1 Hour French Bread

This was an interesting pin that I found a while back, and sadly, it’s been sitting on my bread board for a long time. We were having pasta two nights ago and my kids are so much more amenable to eating pasta when there is bread. I made the decision to try this. It’s come up before on my blog, I love bread a lot!
I’ve made banana bread, rosemary bread, beer bread, and that doesn’t even begin to cover the breadsticks and biscuits I’ve made. I guess you can tell I like bread, yes? Maybe it’s the French in me…..
Your ingredients will be
•2 1/2 cups warm water (borderline hot)
•2 tbsp yeast
•2 tbsp sugar
•1 tsp salt
•3 tbsp oil
•5 1/2 – 6 cups of flour
You’re going to start by putting your water in a bowl and sprinkle the yeast and sugar on top. Let that sit for about 5 minutes until it bubbles, like so:

image

Next up, stir in the salt, oil and flour. Knead it together, adding flour as kneaded (haha), until it pulls away from the edge of the bowl. It’ll look a little like this:

image

Best tip from here, again taken from the original blog, was to heat a cup of water in the microwave for 2 minutes. Afterwards, cover your bowl with a damp towel and place in the microwave for about 15 minutes. It’ll rise faster, to look like this:

image

From here, you form it into 2 loaves. In a moment of wisdom, I decided the dough was only enough for one loaf. 5 minutes into baking time, I split it. Trust me, make 2 loaves! Place the loaves on a greased cookie sheet for baking. Slice some cuts in the top of the bread also. Like so:

image

Here’s where I cut them during bake time:

image

They looked a little stupid, but oh well! Let your bread sit and breathe a bit while your oven heats up to 375°. After your oven is up to temp, bake for 30-35 minutes, or until golden brown.

image

The bread was amazing! Especially with my homemade dipping oil!

image
It was crunchy on the outside, warm and soft on the inside. In essence, perfect! Happy baking all!

2 thoughts on “1 Hour French Bread

Leave a Reply

