Salt Dough Sun Catcher

My dear friend Jenna has guest blogged for me before, with her butterfly footprints. She had another fun night, so she told me I could re-blog this. Her blog is mostly about daily life, with some things similar to mine (crafts, recipes, etc.), but I did want to share with my followers!

Enjoy:

I was feeling creative last night after dinner so I made a pin that I pinned on Pinterest awhile ago. This is something that I should have done while watching a movie on a Friday night while the children were sleeping. The original blogger had her children help her but sometimes I like to make things myself first and do it with the kids a second time.

You can read the original blog here.

YOU WILL NEED:
2 cups flour
1 cup salt
1 cup water
transparent pony beads
parchment paper
cookie tray
string or wire
2 cookie cutter (1 large, 1 small)

The dough felt a bit gritty and salty so the next time I make this I will use 1/2 cup of salt.

After you mix the dough and roll it out cut with the large cookie cutter and then the small one in the center. This is where you will place your beads. Then transfer to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Fill the center with beads. DO NOT LEAVE SPACES! That is where I screwed up!

Loosely cover with tinfoil and bake at 375 degrees F for approximately 1- 1.5 hours or until the beads are melted together. Remember oven temperatures can vary it may take a longer or shorter amount of time. The salt dough will turn a light to dark brown color. Let cool completely.

Here is the finished product that I made:

image

Pretty!

Here’s what they should have looked like:

image

The original blogger’s sun catchers

Leave a Reply

