Carraba’s Dipping Herbs

20130619-223025.jpg

I had big plans for another fancy Pinterest meal tonight. Then I looked in the fridge and realized I have a lot of yummy leftovers! So we took it easy tonight. Munching on some leftover Zuppa Toscana, Shrimp & Chicken Pasta, chicken and rice. Mmm. I wasn’t feeling particularly crafty today and I have something cute planned for tomorrow.
I dug into the last of the Zuppa and was thinking some bread might go down very smooth. Then I remembered I have some dipping herbs ready to try!
I have never been to Carraba’s, but I’ve been to nice restaurants where they have yummy spiced oil to dip your bread in. So I thought this sounded like a good idea.
You take 1/4 tsp off the following: oregano, basil, rosemary, salt, pepper. A pinch of red pepper flakes and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. Mix these all together, then pour 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil over it.
I will confess, I had no ‘fresh’ bread or rolls, so I used regular sandwich bread. It was good, it felt a little over oily. I’m thinking it would be better with a thicker bread, whether you use rolls or chunks of fresh bread. It’s super easy and it’s really a no-lose situation to try this. You like, great! You hate it, pour it out. It takes a whopping 2-3 minutes to put together, and most of that is mincing your garlic!
Check out the original site at http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/extra-virgin-olive-oil-herb-dipping-sauce/

4 thoughts on “Carraba’s Dipping Herbs

  1. I have used this recipe a dz times! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! I bought a garlic press so we could make this all the time! It goes amazingly well with beer bread 🙂

  2. Pingback: 1 Hour French Bread | superstevied

Leave a Reply

