Homemade Beer Bread

Homemade Beer Bread

I’ve recently discovered a deep and abiding love of Beer Bread! I ordered some mix from a friend, Jenna Salamon’s (Check out her blog here) Tastefully Simple party. Don’t get me wrong, really yummy mix, but I am much to thrifty (cheap) to keep buying mix, so my answer was to raid Pinterest. I found this yummy recipe that when I made it using my husband’s Bud Light (he was really upset about my using it) all 4 mini-loaves were gone in 2 days!
Now when I originally made the Tastefully Simple stuff, I used Sprite, and it was really yummy. I have tried this recipe with Sprite, but I am still experimenting with the cook time, so my Sprite version was not the best.
Basic directions:
Ingredients
3 cups all-purpose flour (if using self-rising, omit baking powder and salt)
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
12 ounces beer
2 tablespoons butter, melted
Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 375°F and spray loaf pan with cooking spray.
2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; add the sugar and whisk until all dry ingredients are well combined.
3. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour beer into the well; stir to combine.
4. Pour mixture into loaf pan and bake for 50 minutes.
5. Remove from oven and brush the top of loaf with butter; return to oven and bake 5 more minutes.
6. Remove bread from pan and allow to cool completely before cutting and serving.
Now the first time I made this, with Bud Light, I started doing the recommended cook time, however that time is for a full size loaf pan and I was using mini-loaf pans. Needless to say, I had to cut the crust off completely! Second try, with Sprite, I tried the cook time I use for banana bread, which is 300* for 45 minutes. I think I still overcooked a little, so I am playing with it.
This was not part of the original pin, but something I was playing with and it was yummy. No specific instructions, but I took some sour cream and mixed in some garlic powder to taste. Can we say yummy?! I fully recommend it. Keep in mind too, even if you use beer, baking removes almost all of the alcohol content, so as long as you don’t let your kids sit and eat the whole batch, it’s fine. My kids haven’t started stumbling yet!
Original pin can be found here

One thought on “Homemade Beer Bread

  1. Pingback: 1 Hour French Bread | superstevied

Leave a Reply

