Sausage Breakfast Muffins

image

This was a nifty little recipe I got from here.
For this recipe, you will need:
•2 cups flour (recipe called for whole wheat, but I used regular)
•2 tsp baking powder
•2 tsp sugar
•1 tsp salt
•1/2 tsp rosemary (recipe called for fresh sage, but I didn’t have any)
•1/2 cup canola oil
•4 eggs
•1 1/4 cup milk
•1 red bell pepper all diced up
•1 lb. cooked sausage
Start by mixing your dry ingredients together, then mix in your eggs, oil and milk. Add in your sausage and pepper last. Grease up your muffin pan and fill them 2/3 full. I’m sure I went a little over, but they turned out awesome.

image

Bake the muffins at 375° for 20-24 minutes. I made up about 24 muffins with this sized batch.
Let the muffins cool completely before bagging them up for freezing. I don’t know if they actually need to be frozen, but with the meat in them, I didn’t want to take any chances.

image

I just used a gallon ziploc bag to hold them all, then into the freezer they went.

image

After we sampled a few of course!
This morning I simply tossed one in the microwave this morning on defrost for a few minutes, a little over 2, and had a yummy breakfast on the way to work.
I wish you all a happy morning!

Leave a comment