Homemade Chocolate Cake

Homemade Chocolate Cake

I love making cakes. My mom recently passed her cake pan collection on to me. Dad’s in the military so she got a little tired of carting the pans all over the country, that and she doesn’t make as many cakes as she used to.
After years of trying to show me how to decorate cakes, it all coalesced the day of Arthur’s second birthday and I made him a gorgeous Scooby Doo cake!
I’ve been thinking for a while that I would like to become that mom that makes things from scratch. Cake, brownies, other yummy desserts. Except cookies! Sadly, I’ve learned that Tony makes much better chocolate chip cookies than I ever do. *sigh*
This recipe turned out really yummy, if a little soupy. My thoughts to improve on this, a slightly longer cooktime and I’m going to try Hershey’s Cocoa instead of Nestle Quik.
1/4 cup cocoa (as stated earlier, I used Nestle Quik, mainly because I had it in the house, even though the pictures from the site showed Hershey’s Cocoa)
1 cup of butter or margarine (2 sticks)
1 cup water
2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup buttermilk (I used regular milk because my kitchen isn’t fancy enough to run to buttermilk)
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Heat your oven to 400*. Original site said 9×13 pan, but I used my 2 round pans.
Mix together the butter, sugar and cocoa. Once it’s well combined and gently boiling, remove from heat.
Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.
In another bowl stir together the buttermilk (in my case milk), water and eggs.
Once the cocoa mixture is cool combine all the ingredients in the large mixing bowl. Pour into the baking pan and bake 25 minutes until the cake is done. I’ll be going a little longer next time, this may have been because of my pan size, but I’m willing to experiment!
Allow the cake to cool and then cover with icing. Normally I make my own icing, but as I used this recipe to do my Kit-Kat Cake, check that out at https://superstevied.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/cute-cake/ , and I didn’t need a full batch. I’ll admit it, I used store bought!
I’d definitely recommend giving this a try, just be smart like I was, and try this as a just because cake. You don’t want to risk your kid’s birthday cake being a little soupy!
Happy baking!
Original recipe is from http://groundbeefbudget.com/2012/11/homemade-chocolate-cake/
Check out this site for other yummy-ness

Leave a Reply

