Breaking Glass

20130609-204556.jpg

This is going to be a two-parter blog. I was able to use one pin to help me complete another and I felt quite accomplished! So for tonight, here is part one.
When I first pinned this, I was a little skeptical. Even my husband gave me a funny look when I told him I could cut a glass bottle with yarn and nail polish remover.
All you have to do is get some nail polish remover, yarn and a bottle of your choice. Tony drinks Bud Light so that’s what I used.
Wrap the yarn around your bottle to determine how much you need, then cut it off. Soak the yarn in nail polish remover until its nice and saturated.
Take out the yarn and tie it around your bottle at the location you want the cut. Light it up with a match or lighter and watch it burn. Make sure you turn the bottle while its burning to evenly heat it. After 15-25 seconds, dunk the bottle in cold water and it should break along the yarn line.
The original pinner says to sand it down because it will be sharp, although mine were pretty smooth.
The first time I attempted this, I didn’t turn the bottle while it was burning and the top part of my bottle shattered. I also think I was a little to close to the curve of the bottle. Second attempt was much better and that is the one I featured in the picture.
I advise you to use caution when doing this. I filled a bucket with cold water outside so that if shards flew, they would be outside. I didn’t have any problems though, even the one that shattered remained underwater.
This was surprisingly easy and I was very happy that it worked!
Check back tomorrow to see part two……
Original pin can be found at http://www.mommysavers.com/c/t/208387/how-to-cut-glass-with-yarn-and-fingernail-polish-remover

Leave a Reply

