Dreamworks Home

image

Dreamworks has done it again. They have released an amazing movie that kids love and the parents, even ones who don’t get emotionally involved in children’s movies like I do, can enjoy. The previews, which I looked up online after we got several of the Home toys from McDonald’s, didn’t reveal too much of the plotline, so I was a little curious about the movie. Arthur and Chiara wanted to see it, so I decided we would go, and if nothing else, I could enjoy listening to Sheldon’s voice (Jim Parson) be the voice of a cartoon, the lovable character, Oh.

We’re brought up to speed in the beginning by Oh, who explains that his people, the Boov, are runners and hiders, and they establish their new homes by safely relocating the planets inhabitants somewhere remote, in this case Australia. You also learn right away that Oh wants nothing more than friends, but he has none, except in his mind, due to the fact he keeps making mistakes. The mistake that kicks off the main conflict of the story is that he sends e-vites to a party and accidently hits send all, which includes the Boov’s enemy, Gorg. The e-vite contains directions to their new home. He goes on the run to avoid being erased, where he finds the human girl, Tip (voiced by Rihanna), who was saved from relocation by her cat, Pig.

The two become partners in finding Tip’s mom, while Oh trys to avoid being discovered. They eventually become friends and Oh learns what family is about, as it is not something the Boov have.

I think my favorite part of the whole movie was the fact that Oh reminds me so much of Sheldon. For those of you who are not Big Bang Theory fans, I apologize, but Oh is so socially awkward, and so sure that his way is the right way, it’s great to watch this small, color-changing alien realize the Boov were wrong about the humans.

And if they were wrong about the humans, what else have they been wrong about?

The final reveal of the movie was amazing and I love how these children’s movies are finding subtle and interesting ways to show kids that first impressions aren’t always right.

The soundtrack was really great as well. I’m assuming it will be anyway because the music during the film was great! It was entertaining for me recognizing Rihanna’s voice singing while the character she voices dances on screen.

If you see this movie, I hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I did!

Leave a Reply

