Splinter Removal

image

I know it’s hard to see, but there is a teeny tiny splinter by my nail. Ouch! I hate when I get splinters in awkward spots like this. They’re hard to pull out, and sometimes it’s hard to even get a needle in at the right angle.

I’ve got many picture only pins on my life hack board. One of them was a “how-to” on splinter removal. Thankfully, we don’t get a lot of splinters in this house, so I haven’t had the opportunity to try this one. This particular one claims that if you make a paste of baking soda and water:

image

This can also be used as a poor man’s toothpaste, just FYI. For splinter removal however, you smear a little on the splinter and cover with a bandaid for 20-30 minutes:

image

Yes, I borrowed one of Arthur’s super cool Cars band-aids. For some reason I couldn’t find my first aid kit, so I had to raid the medicine cabinet for kids band-aids.

image

Again, hard to see, but the splinter is gone. I was a little disappointed in this pin because it said the splinter would pop out on its own. It did not. It did however make the splinter come out easier than normal. Very little squeezing and it came right out. Normally splinters in my fingers are a royal pain in the butt to get out.

I’m looking forward to trying this pin on a less awful splinter location, maybe it’ll pop out on its own……

Leave a Reply

