Soda (Pop) Can Caddy

image

I actually saw this awesome video on a Facebook link, and had to try this quickly. After all, the supplies needed for this can be found in almost every home in America.
•6 soda (pop) cans
•hot glue gun and glue
•hole punch
•wire or pipe cleaner
•manual can opener

image

I love what Coke and Sprite have going on right now with their cans. Coke has fun words describing people, things like “Legend”, “Superstar” and “Dreamer”. Sprite just recently started with quotes from songs (at least I think they’re song lyrics).

image

This next step absolutely blew my mind! You take any manual can opener, although I have met people who don’t know how to use them, and run it around the edge, like any other can, and you will be left with a perfectly smooth – edged, open can.

image

Next step is to take your hot glue gun and attach the cans to each other, keeping the words or quotes facing outward.

image

I had a bit of an issue keeping the cans perfectly squared up, but I never claimed to be perfect!

image

Next step requires your hole punch and wire. The original pin only had four cans with holes punched, but I wanted a little more reinforcement. I punched holes across from each other on all six cans, this let me thread the wire through them all, criss-crossing the wire like shoelaces. Then I just doubled up a longer strand of wire and made myself a handle.

It was a quick project, and it was funny because Tony was just as amazed as I was by the smoothness left behind by the can opener!

This would be a nice addition to your summer barbecue or picnic, so get crafting!

Leave a Reply

