Turning Thirty

image

Thirty years old. It’s usually the year that freaks people out. I’ve seen people lose it over 25, but 30 tends to be the OMG moment for most. It’s the crossing over into adult status, having to accept that you’re a grown-up. I have to be honest, it’s not a huge deal for me.
The last few years especially, birthdays have been just another day. Sure, it’s a chance to treat myself to a new tattoo, or dinner out where I want to go, but not a big event. I am doing something big this year though! Tomorrow I am going skydiving for the first time. Don’t worry, it’s a tandem jump, but I’m so excited about it!
I think my attitude about turning thirty has been so relaxed because of where I am. I’m not talking about Ohio, although this is a pretty great state, but where I am emotionally, physically, spiritually and just overall life.

image

I have been married to the love of my life since the tender age of 21, so we’ve done a lot of growing as a couple. He has his own interests, mainly cars, but he still pays attention when I try explaining my books to him. What more can a book nerd ask for?

image

I have two amazing children. They’re happy and healthy, sweet and friendly. They make me laugh, even when they’re making me insane. No matter how bad the day is going, a hug from my kids will give me a huge mood boost!

I have amazing family and friends, too many to post a picture of, that are there for me when I need them, to provide entertainment or comfort. They trust me to help them through their rough times and be there for the good.

All in all, I’m going to consider 30 a milestone, which it is, but most definitely nothing to weep or despair over. I plan on living the next 30 years to the fullest, just like the last 30!

Leave a Reply

