Peppermint Bath Fizzies

image

I originally intended this pin to be part of a Christmas gift. They didn’t turn out quite as pretty as I had hoped, alothough they worked pretty good, so I ended up going in another direction.
This is a really simple spa-type project you can make yourself.
All you need is:

image

•1/2 cup olive oil (the original pin listed several other types of oil you can use)
•1/2 cup cornstarch
•1 cup citric acid (I got mine in the canning section at Walmart)
•1 cup baking soda
•peppermint essential oil (I had to break down and go to Giant Eagle for this)
•a mold that you want to use to form your fizzies (I recommend a mini muffin pan)

Start by adding ten drops of peppermint essential oil to your olive oil. I went a little overboard with 15 drops and the smell can be overpowering!
Then you mix everything together until you get a wet sand-like texture:

image

Once you have a consistency you’re happy with, pack the mixture into your mold of choice.

image

I think my mini muffin Longaberger pan worked best! It lead to the fizzies at the top of the page.
The original pinner mentioned the possibility of plasric egg molds:

image

The only problem I had with this was that the two halves didn’t form a whole, so I ended up with pieces that looked like this:

image

They’re still usable, but not very uniform!
I’ve used one so far and it was very soothing. The smell of peppermint was very seasonally appropriate and very relaxing! The only concern I had with them was there was a slight oily residue in the tub after my bath.
I’d definitely recommend making them, even if it’s just for yourself. Maybe especially for yourself!
Happy bathing everyone! ^.^

Leave a Reply

