Colored Deviled Eggs

image

I’m not going to lie to you, I was going for red, white and blue for the Fourth of July. Apparently red food coloring ends up pink, but it’s ok, because Chiara was very excited about eating pink eggs.
You start by using my super simple method of hard boiling eggs and let them cool. Then I just tapped the eggs against the counter and peeled the shell off. Once you’ve peeled your eggs, you cut the eggs in half, standard deviled egg fashion. Then you put your yolks in a bowl for later.
The fun comes next, when you get the food coloring involved. I have to take a minute, in my Harry Potter nerd-ness,  to tell you how excited I was about how the food coloring looked like Death Eaters flying around:

image

At least a little bit!

image

Then you let your eggs sit for a bit until they are the desired color. I left mine about 15 minutes.
While the eggs are sitting in the food coloring, you can mix your yolks up. I put in some mayonnaise, a little bit of mustard and a splash of pickle juice. Salt and pepper to taste. I don’t put amounts down, only because it will vary based on how many eggs you’re making. 
Once your eggs are done dying (haha), your yolks are mixed up, then you let the eggs dry out a bit, scoop your yolk mixture into the egg and sprinkle paprika over it.
Deliciousness for every occasion!

Leave a Reply

