Newspaper Basket

image

Pretty cute, right? I was sorting through some buildup on my server today, finding mostly mail, a phone book and 2 old newspapers. Gee, don’t I have something I can do with this? Maybe something pinned to my ‘Paper Crafts’ board? Of course I do!
The original site was a little interesting, with ads showing up on the top and bottom of my screen, I had a view of maybe three inches of the actual site. Luckily the directions are simple!
You start by taking a newspaper and cutting the paper at the ‘seam’ so you end up with 11-12 pieces that look like this.

image

Then you roll them length wise, about an inch in diameter, then press them flat, until you end up with this:

image

To form your base, you need to take 8 of your strips, four each way and you interlock them, like so:

image

The next step, I found a way to cheat a little bit. You take one of your strips and tape the ends together.

image

Now, you just alternate the sides, as you would with any basket weave, continuing up your basket’s sides.

image

Once you get towards the top of your upward pointing pieces, you can fold over the ends to tuck them in. The picture is a little weird to understand, but I bent the piece over and tucked it under my last ‘paper ring’.

image

image

The basket itself was pretty cute. I dressed it up a little with one of Chiara’s ribbons, as seen above, and it turns out that it’s sturdier than you’d think!

image

It’s actually sturdy enough to hold all of these toys without ripping! Not bad for about 15 minutes of my time!

Leave a Reply

