Chicken Kiev

image

I’m going to start this by saying I did alter this recipe a bit, as I do for most recipes, but I will include a link to the full recipe at the bottom.
I started out by chopping up some onion, really you only need 1 Tbsp so don’t chop up more than you need. I added 1 Tbsp of minced garlic and mixed them together.
The next step was mildly entertaining for me. You need to take 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, fully thawed, and bound them flat with your meat tenderizer. Unless you don’t have a meat tenderizer, in which case I used pressure (with my hand) and flattened them out. It was kind of fun and gross at the same time.
Take an egg, beat it and add 1 Tbsp of water to it. Put flour in a bowl, enough to coat your chicken. In a separate bowl, have enough bread crumbs to coat your chicken as well.

image

Take your tenderized chicken, add a little salt and pepper, sprinkle 1/4 of your onion and garlic mixture and add a spoonful of butter. The original recipe had specific amounts for butter, but I just scooped some out of the tub. Once all of the above is done, roll the chicken up and dip into the flour, dip into the egg, dip in the bread crumbs, back in the egg and back into the bread crumbs. It seems like a lot, it is, it is also messy!

image

Once you go through all of these steps with all of the chicken, place them in your baking dish and refrigerate for 1-24 hours. I left mine in the fridge till the next day. Remember they must be refrigerated for at least an hour! I missed this step when I made it the first time and it threw everything off.
After the refrigeration is over, you will melt some butter in a pan. Place your ‘chicken rolls’ in the pan and fry until they are golden brown on all sides. After you’ve achieved golden brown perfection, place them back in your baking dish. Bake them at 400° for 15-18 minutes.

They are really good. Even Tony said so, and he ended up doing the frying after I did the prep work. It is a lot of work though!

If you make this, it is good, but be prepared to work for it and plan accordingly!

Full recipe found here.

Leave a Reply

