Snowball Playdough

image

This was a fun little pin I found for Chiara’s birthday.
We decided, well I decided, to throw a Frozen themed birthday party for Chiara this year, and what makes a better party favor for preschoolers than playdough?
I do want to preface this with the fact that my crockpot is old and it may be slowly dying. Your playdough may ‘cook’ faster than mine did.
You start by mixing together in your crockpot:
1 cup flour
1/2 cup salt
2 Tbsp cream of tarter
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 cup water
The original directions say to use medium heat. That was a problem for me as my crockpot has high and low. I went with high. You throw everything in the crockpot:

image

Then you stir it together until it looks like this:

image

If you want to add and food coloring or dyes, now is the time to stir those in as well. Then you let it cook. It took about a half hour on high, stirring every five minutes or so. This is part of what led me to thinking my crockpot is dying!
You’ll be able to tell as you move through this process when it’s done because it will begin to resemble traditional playdough.
I didn’t add any dyes, but I did want to add glitter, something that you do once it’s cooled.

image

Here, I just threw some glitter on a plate and rolled it around until I was satisfied with the sparkle. Chiara really enjoyed helping me out here too!
Afterwards she insisted on ‘testing’ the playdough.

image

She had no complaints!
The original pinner did provide lovely, printable tags, but as I am still without a printer, I just used the tags provided with the jars and hand wrote on them. Just to make sure it was clear what I was going for.

image

Not very fancy, but again, it’s a party favor for preschoolers, so we had no complaints!
Have fun making it and even more fun playing with it! It is all edible ingredients, minus the glitter, but it tastes nasty! Yes, I tried it, don’t judge me!

Leave a Reply

