Tea Cup Candles

Tea Cup Candles
My dear friend Jenna was complaining to me yesterday that I am not blogging enough lately. I told her that I had all of these great things that I had done for Christmas, but was waiting to blog about them until after the holidays. Well, here we are, starting the third week of the New Year and I am still slacking! Bad Stevie! I am away from home right now for some work related training. This translates too free WiFi and evenings free. This is a great time to catch up on my Christmas projects. Remember people, great gifts can be plotted out early!
The first time I saw these adorable little candles, I immediately thought of my Nana and Tony’s grandmother. They are wonderful women, but can be difficult to shop for! They have what they want in life and if not, they’ll get it. They both are very family oriented, so I knew a homemade gift would be a big hit!
The original post talks about after you lose a saucer for your teacups, this is a good way to repurpose them. I however am not a teacup person! I have two young children in the house. We tend to stick to industrial strength coffee mugs! I found my teacups at Pat Catans. A local craft store that usually has what I need, once I’ve exhausted all other options. You would think I would go there first…… Yeah, right!
For this project you will also need some scented wax, candle wicking and wick sustainers. All of these can be found at a craft store. Tony and I cheated a little with the candle wax, instead of buying scented wax and trying to melt it in a nested pan, as the instructions called for, we used one of the many Yankee Candles we had around the house. Our final choice was “Whiskers on Kittens”, a cute name for an amazing scent!
You start by melting your wax. Using an existing candle, we simple placed the candle jar in a pot of barely simmering water. You don’t want to temperature too high or you can burn the wax and mess with the smell. Check out our wax, just getting started:
1208132019
While your wax is slowly melting, you prep your teacups. You place your new candle wick in your wick sustainer and clamp it closed, this hold the wick in place. Then, you coat the wick sustainer in some of your already melting wax and press it firmly to the bottom of the cup. You want it to stick so that it will remain in place when you add the rest of your candle wax. Tie off your wick to a straw of skewer and place that over the top of your cup so that it will maintain it’s position when pouring your wax. It’ll look something like this:
1208132030
When your wax has melted down, please remember this is hot and is willing to go everywhere:
1208132041
Best thing to remember about the wax is to just let it dry, and then scrape it off. Please don’t try this if you have carpet, because that will be all bad!
When pouring the first time, pour the wax to about a 1/2″ from the rim. Then you need to let it set. I’m not sure why, but as it hardens, you will have a little “well” in the center, surrounding your wick. After your wax has hardened, take a skewer, or anything slender and pointy, and poke a circle of holes around the wick about 1/16″ deep. Pour your second round of wax in until you are about 1/4″ from the rim. When it hardens this time, you will have a much flatter surface.
I’m angry at myself for not taking pictures of the wrapping job I did on these candles, because it was fairly amusing! I wrapped the teacup in tissue paper, wrapped the saucer in tissue paper, stacked the teacup on the saucer, then wrapped them together with cellophane, tied off with a ribbon. They were both getting shipped out of state and I wanted to be sure they survived the trip! Then I put them in a box with a ton of plastic bags for padding. They both made it safely to their destination, so all was well!
If you try these out, have fun with it. If you have mismatched teacups you now have something to try. If you are like me, and collect candles indiscriminately, you now have a plan to make them useful! Happy crafting all!
Original pin can be traced back to http://www.marthastewart.com/273016/teacup-lights?lnc=a7367dbc53cee010VgnVCM1000003d370a0aRCRD&rsc=collage_crafts_recycling-crafts

Leave a Reply

