Grinch Pills

I know I posted that I had hoped to get all of my Christmas-y blogs done before the first of the year, but oh well. Vacation to NC trumps blogging in this case! Besides, I try to start thinking about Christmas as early in the year as possible. Normally I start plotting in January, then buying or putting together no later than May. This past year was a personal worst because I didn’t start until August! I’m sure some of you hate people with that mentality, but I can live with that!
I don’t normally gets gifts for people at work, occasionally someone I’m really close to outside of work will get something cute, but as a rule I try not to. You run into the issues of who qualifies for a gift, how to deal with people who didn’t get one, and so on and so forth! It’s just easier to avoid this all together! This year I decided to make candy gifts for people either on my team or part of the manager team. I already posted about the candy cane sleighs, https://superstevied.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/candy-sleighs/, which I made for the people on my team, but I wanted to make something different for the management team. I also decided this because I found so many great things on Pinterest and this was a great reason to make them!
I started this gift with buying two bags of the red and green Christmas M&Ms. Looking back, I should’ve known to buy way more! Tony and I had a little party on the couch while sorting them out, as I only needed the green ones for this craft. I also purchased the tiny treat bags from the party section at Wal-Mart, they come 50 to a pack for a few dollars. I printed off a favored picture of the Grinch, you can choose any picture you like, however one with a white backdrop would work best. Then you can either print the poem yourself or print it off the computer yourself. I went this way because when writing stuff for cards or gifts, I focus on my writing so much that I grip the pen to tightly, leading to hand cramps! Not good!
The poem is as follows:
Feeling kinda grouchy?
Holiday spirit can’t be found?
Just try these little “Grinch Pills.”
They’re the best medicine around
Whether eating a whole handful,
Or muching one or two,
These tasty little “pills”
Take the “Grinch” right out of you!

I dug into my scrapbook paper for the next step. I glued the Grinch picture and poem onto some festive paper and left enough space above the Grinch picture to fold over my M&M bag. Then I put a handful of green M&Ms into the plastic treat bag, folded the craft paper over the top of the bag and sealed with two staples. Simple, fun and festive!
"Grinch Pill" front
View from the back

Original idea and pin came from a photo found at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jamiermoore/5302094905/in/photostream/

Leave a Reply

