Candy Sleighs

1208132109[1]
So, I’ve been perusing Pinterest, like you do, and I have filled a board full of fun Christmas ideas. Not surprising with how many cute and fun ideas are available through that source! Sadly, this is one of those that I can’t reference exactly where this pin links too. It keeps sending me to indulgy.com, however I can’t find the actual craft on that site. Maybe I’ll find it the next time I try, if so I will come back and update!
I’m sure it’s come up before, but I work for Wal-Mart. I am an area supervisor and I have a specific team of people that work with me. I’ve never made gifts for my team before, but this year, I took advantage of the fact that I have a team, to make these awesome little sleighs!
The best part about these sleighs is that everything you need for them can be bought in bulk. That’s another reason these are great gifts for teams or large groups of people. I bought myself 4 packs of candy canes, 2 of the giant bags of assorted Hershey’s candy bars, 4 6-packs of Kit-Kat bars, some Christmas-y ribbon and 3 of the 10-pack mini bows, all of which I picked up at my Wal-Mart.
I did initially start out using Elmer’s glue to attach all of the pieces together, and to an extent, that works. I tried super glue as well, but believe me, you will want to a hot glue gun, especially if you have a porous ribbon, as I did.
1206132156[1]
It helps to give yourself a plan before you break out the glue. I wanted to keep my layers all one type of candy, so I plotted my sleighs out. Once you have a plan, if you want one, you can use Elmer’s glue to connect your chocolates together. On top of your Kit-Kat, your first layer should be 4 small Hershey’s, then 3, 2, 1. Simple, yes? You’ll end up with something like this:
1206132226[1]
Elmer’s glue will get you this far, but now it’s time to move onto a hot glue gun! Next step requires a little finger dexterity, or help from a friend. You need to hold both of your candy canes upright, like sleigh skis, and run a line of hot glue down the top of them. Once the glue is down, place your Kit-Kat on the two candy canes. You do need to move fast, because hot glue sets FAST!
After the hot glue has hardened, you can attach your ribbon. Run a piece under the sleigh lengthwise, then widthwise, including the candy canes in the width one. Once that glue has dried, you slap a bow on top and call it done!
I found it easier to work assembly-line style. I attached all the Hershey’s to the Kit-Kats and let them sit for about an hour. Then you can plug in your glue gun and attach them all to the candy canes. By the time the “skis” are all attached, you’re ready to start on the ribbons. It goes faster that way, and you get a better feeling with how much you’ve accomplished!
*Update* I was showing off to my mom about how I made these cute little sleighs and then I found out she had made something similar for people at her work. Check out her candy sleighs!
My mom's giant candy sleigh
These are cute and fun little gifts, so keep them in mind if you need something cute for co-workers or neighbors!

4 thoughts on “Candy Sleighs

  1. Pingback: Grinch Pills | superstevied

Leave a Reply

