Growing Babies

image

Yes, these are piles of folded laundry. More specifically my kids’ laundry. Tony washes clothes, but I don’t like him folding them because I have my system. We all have our OCD moments. I’ve been a complete bum the last few days so it built up a little bit.
So tonight, as I was folding laundry, it occurs to me that my kids are growing up. Every once in a while, as a parent you have the moments of ‘OMG, when did they grow up?’ I had one of those today.
Arthur has been in preschool since he was three, so kindergarten was just the next step. Exciting and new, but not really sad.
Chiara has her first day of preschool tomorrow, so I’m not really sure how I feel. I’m happy that she’ll have some socialization time with other kids, but a little sad that she won’t need me as much. Everyone will always need their mom, I know I do, but the distance gets a little bigger with every one of these steps.
While folding the clothes, I’m mentally planning to go through their drawers to pull the small clothes out. I’m remembering when we picked up a particular shirt or outfit, thinking about how big it was when we first picked it up, and now, before I know it, it’s getting too small.
Just feeling a little mopey tonight. A little pathetic I know, but I am still so proud. Just realizing, that while they will always be my babies, they can’t stay my little babies forever. That’s both comforting and sad. Why can’t mom feelings be simple, at least once in a while?!

3 thoughts on “Growing Babies

  1. It’s scary how those “mom” moments creep up on you isn’t it? I can’t believe my bubba is going to be 18tmths. Sad how quickly time passes.

Leave a Reply

