Epic

image

Well Blue Sky Studios has done it again! I loved all of the Ice Age movies, so they have yet to disappoint me. I loved the preview, mostly because of the amazing Snow Patrol song playing,  but I was a little worried it was going to follow the basic plotline of Arthur and the Invisibles. I could definitely draw similarities, but it managed to stand alone as an amazing story!
It begins with Mary Katherine, MK, voiced by Amanda Seyfried, dealing with the loss of her mom and moving in with her dad. Her parents’ marriage had fallen apart because of her father’s obsession with an advanced civilization of tiny people who live in the forest.
MK’s disbelief doesn’t prevent her from being drawn into the battle between the Leafmen and the Rot. The queen, voiced by Beyoncé, is choosing her successor, but the Rot intervenes and MK is forced to do her part to protect the forest.
Other voice talents include Colin Farrell and Josh Hutcherson. There are other great voices, but those were the highlights for me!

image

Both kids were enthralled with the movie. They were laughing and yelling oh no. There is a scene where MK and Nod, voiced by Josh Hutcherson, are riding on deer antlers and Chiara just said, “wow, that’s beautiful.” The little world they created for this is just mind boggling. 
As stated before, you can draw similarities to other great ‘save the enviornment’ movies. Ferngully, Arthur and the Invisibles and even Avatar. They’re all movies thay make you want to rush out and plant a tree or flowers.

image

The 3D BluRay set even includes seed packets! It’s a little bit of a mystery what they are, it just says they will be beautiful. I can’t wait to find out!
I’m not going to put any spoilers with this movie review, I’m just going to encourage you to buy, borrow or rent it. It’s a great movie, I would say for everyone, but I’ve been informed I enjoy kids movies a little too much. Tony enjoyed it too, and he is a little more discerning than I. So check it out and let me know what you think!
Original pin can be found at http://www.examiner.com/article/august-20-2013-dvd-blu-ray-and-3d-epic-with-amanda-seyfried-colin-farrell

3 thoughts on “Epic

  1. I think this will be our movie pick for Saturday night! I’m having my nieces, nephew and Brother in Law sleep over for the weekend.

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: Epic (2013) | DDMBOSS Designs

Leave a Reply

