Footprint Butterflies

image

Today I bring to you my very first guest blog, from my very dear friend Jenna Salamon. Check out her blog about life with her family at http://salamonsalamanders.wordpress.com

Foot Print Butterflies: I found this idea on Pinterest a while back so I decided to make this with the kids for Mother’s Day.  Of course I put my own spin on it and I think it turned out fabulous!!  I made mine on an 8 ½ x 11 canvas but you can make it on anything.  
Here is what you will need: 
CanvasPaint (I used kid friendly Crayola paints that I found at Wal-Mart) 
Paint brush
Old Socks
A wet rag (to wipe off the feet after) 
Two Pipe cleaners
Hot glue gun
Start by lightly coating the right foot with paint.  Press the foot in desired location on the canvas.  Wash the foot with rag and then place in old sock.  Then lightly coat the left foot with paint and press on the opposite side of the footprint you already have down so you can make a butterfly.  Then wash with the old rag and put in the old sock.  This project went really smooth considering my children are 6 and 16mths old.  We didn’t get too messy! (THANK GOD) Let the butterflies dry overnight. 
When completely dry twist pipe cleaners to make the body and antenna of butterflies.  Glue in the middle with hot glue gun.  Then by each butterfly mark each child’s name with a black sharpie marker and age.Enjoy!!
Original pin can be found here:  http://pinterest.com/pin/106538347406578426/

2 thoughts on “Footprint Butterflies

  1. Pingback: Salt Dough Sun Catcher | superstevied

Leave a Reply

