Plastic Envelope

20130716-215736.jpg

This one was kind of an odd duck pin. I don’t know if I’ll make any more, but I will definitely be fiddling with it to see if I can pretty it up.
You start with an empty gallon milk jug, which everyone can get no problem! I’m going to describe the steps on how to cut, but I strongly recommend checking out the original pin to see how it’s done. Even if you mess it up, just drink milk and start again! There is one flat side on a milk carton, with no handle, or divot. That is the side that is going to form your top flap.
The lines you see are actually my market lines, which I hope to eliminate on future attempts. It is helpful to have the lines your first try.
The flat side is going to be a nice big arc that encompasses as much space as possible, draw it to the top, where it just starts to curl over.
The other sides will be short rounded hills. Where your sides meet, draw them together into a kind of car smile. Silly directions I know, but remember how you would draw a line from the nose to curve out into the two sides of a smile? That’s what we’re going for. Then you cut out your lines and fold the ‘bottom’ flap up, the two sides in and the ‘top’ flap over it.
I have yet to figure out how they attached the button to hold it closed, but will definitely update when I figure it out.
Best part of this pin, cheap thrills! Enjoy!
Original pin, which is not in English, but has helpful pictures is at http://elmundodelreciclaje.blogspot.com/2011/05/recicla-un-bidon.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

