Beignets

20130705-210509.jpg

It hasn’t come up yet, but I am primarily of French descent. It makes it really fun to mess with everyone at work, who is primarily Hispanic or African descent. They pick on the fact that I use my hands when I talk, a very Gallic (and Italian, but for the sake of the argument) habit. When they start a Spanish conversation I love to respond with something in French.
One thing about the French, something that no one can deny, is they make amazing food! Most people think of New Orleans when they think beignets, but it is in fact a French food, albeit it’s been ‘colonized’!
Of course I had heard of them before, but since I had seen The Princess and the Frog, I have been dying to try them. My newest response to wanting to try something: Pinterest!
This recipe is pretty simple, it just takes some planning!
You start by mixing together in your mixer, with dough hook attachment: 1 cup lukewarm water, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, I large egg beaten at room temperature, 2 tbsp softened butter and 1/2 cup evaporated milk.
I had a moment, thinking I had evaporated milk, when in fact I had condensed milk. After a quick Internet check, I was assured that UNsweetened condensed milk was interchangeable, but sweetened, what I had, was not. I decided to risk it, and everything turned out great!
Once it’s all well combined, form an oval and place it in a lightly greased bowl, I used a little extra virgin olive oil, and cover with plastic wrap, I used a dish towel. Place it in the fridge for 3-4 hours, or overnight. I did the overnight so we could have them for breakfast.
After they’ve refrigerated, roll out your dough to 1/2″ thickness, cut into squares or circles about 3″ big. Fry them in oil till golden brown on both sides, then sprinkle with powdered sugar.
The kids and I made absolute pigs of ourselves! Even my friend Jenna’s little boy Oliver, who’s only a year old, ate four!
I will definitely be making these again in the future! And what did we watch while devouring these?? Princess and the Frog of course! I wonder if they were as good as Tiana’s??
Original pin containing recipe and history of beignets can be found at http://whatscookingamerica.net/History/BeignetsHistory.htm

One thought on “Beignets

Leave a Reply

