Lords of the Underworld

20130701-205231.jpg

I’ve been reading these books since before I even heard of Pinterest. While starting my boards I posted this series to my Books Worth Reading board.
The whole series is based around the idea of Pandora’s box, but with a twist. There were twelve immortal warriors who were created by the Greek gods to be their soldiers. There was a box containing demons to dangerous to remain in the underworld. The twelve warriors were angered when the gods chose Pandora to guard the box of demons. They concocted a plan to show that they would be better guardians, but when they opened the box, the plan went awry. They had planned to recapture the demons showing how strong they were, but in the confusion, the box was lost. As punishment for their actions, the gods condemned them to earth and made them house the demons within themselves.
The books are the stories of how the warriors learn to live with their demons and find real happiness.
The reason I’m posting my first book review now is because the E-book for Darkest Night is currently available for only $1.99! How better to decide if you like a series, than to get the first book for less than $2?!
Check out http://www.amazon.com/Darkest-Night-Lords-Underworld-ebook/dp/B0084ZZAM6/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=1-1&qid=1329857838 for the Kindle version.
The Darkest Night is the story of Maddox, the keeper of Violence. He had a second curse placed on him because he was the one who killed Pandora when his demon was first thrust inside him. He was cursed to die every night, journey to hell, only to revive in the morning and do it again. Little did he know, his salvation lay inside a mortal woman named Ashlyn, who has something extra herself.
I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but it’s an amazing story, that only whets your appetite for more!
At first it seems like there are too many characters and its difficult to keep it straight, but as the series goes on and more characters join, you can’t help but wish for more information about all of them!
I don’t think I have a favorite in the series, although there are a few characters I like more than most! Anya, the goddess of Anarchy is a personal favorite!
I’ve dealt most of my life having people pick on my choice of reading material, mostly romance. Now in our Fifty Shades society, I feel my books are positively tame! Certain scenes get a little racy, but nothing I can’t handle *wink* Even Tony enjoys those scenes. Come on guys, give them a chance!
Original pin links to http://members.genashowalter.com/page/the-darkest-night

Leave a Reply

