Edible Glitter

20130614-064856.jpg

Epic failure on my part! I actually completed this pin last night, then I fell into a movie with my family (which was not the failure, that was the good part), and forgot to blog!
This was only slightly complicated, and mainly because I did it the way the pinner suggested, then I had to adjust.
Pinner’s directions: 1/4 cup of sugar, add liquid food coloring and shake until you achieve the desired color. Put your jar into the oven at 350* for 10 minutes and you have edible glitter.
What I did:
Mixed the sugar and food coloring together then spread the mixture on a baking tray and baked at 350* for 10 minutes.
The jar scenario left me with bits of sugar that had no glimmer. I think the next time I try this, I’m going to spread some aluminum foil on the baking tray first. Scraping it into a funnel was a little comical. After I was finished, I scraped the ‘glitter’ into an empty salt shaker (great idea from original pinner) so the kids and I could sprinkle it onto our brownies.
This is definitely something fun and easy that will entertain young kids. Next time I’ll be making multiple colors so we can make a project of it! Enjoy your own experiences with this one.
Original pin is at http://www.planetpals.com/craft-non-toxic-craft-supply-recipes.html

One thought on “Edible Glitter

  1. Pingback: D.I.Y. Homemade Glitter! | Chronically Bored

Leave a Reply

