Zeppole

20130612-210903.jpg

I’ve made zeppole in the past and it’s been really yummy. I have a super fancy Italian-American cookbook. Fancy ingredients and fancy directions. Not too easy!
I pinned this a while ago and the mood struck tonight to make some dessert!
You start by combining 4oz of butter, 1/4 cup of water, 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 tsp salt over medium heat until its gently boiling. Remove it from heat and stir in 1 cup of flour. Mix it until it’s all combined into a thick dough, about the time your arm wants to fall off…..
Return to heat for 2 minutes, mainly to keep the dough soft. The directions said to use a paddle attachment to add 4 eggs, one at a time until you get a glossy dough. I just used my wooden spoon to mix it all. I ended up with a rubber arm, but I felt pretty righteous!
Directions said to put your dough into the fridge for 15 minutes. I didn’t and now I realize what the point was. It hardens your dough a bit so that it’s not all goopy when you’re ready to fry it.
Fill a frying pan about 3/4 full of vegetable oil. The directions said to heat to a specific heat, but I just turned it to medium heat and let it get up to temp.
Use a spoon to dip out (approx) 1 tbsp dollops and drop into the oil. Medium heat shouldn’t give you too many splatters. You’re aiming for golden brown an in my experience, it’s a little difficult because they keep rolling back over.
Once they’re done, put them on a paper towel to soak up excess oil. When they’ve cooled to a reasonable temp (when you can touch them) roll them around in some sugar.
The original pinner had a recipe for a dipping sauce. It involved heating to just short of a boil, 3/4 cup heavy cream. Once the cream is heated, pour it over 1 cup of semi-sweet or bittersweet morsels. I didn’t care for it honestly. In the future, I’ll dip into some Hershey’s syrup or hot fudge.
I’d recommend trying this one. I’m adding it to my Olive Garden menu. I just need the right entree and I’ll be able to have an Olive Garden night, right here at home……
Original pin can be found at http://www.seededatthetable.com/2009/03/19/zeppole-italian-doughnuts/

Leave a Reply

