Apothecary jars

20130603-004914.jpg

This is another one of those fun pins that I’ve had forever, but never did. As soon as I pinned it I started saving the jars, but just kept collecting!
Super easy to do, once you’ve emptied the jars you want to use, give them a good cleaning. Peel the labels, use some steel wool to scrub the sticky residue off and scrub with soap and water. Find some knobs you like the shape of. The coloring doesn’t really matter because you’re going to spray paint them anyway.
I used a screwdriver to drive the hole in the lid, then you screw the knob through the center of the lid. I had to buy shorter screws for mine because most knobs are intended for drawers, which are much thicker than a lid.
I had Tony spray paint them for me since I can never get an even coating.
Then I loaded them up with some assorted candies we have laying about. I love the way they turned out. The sky blue is a beautiful color, especially against the bright candy colors! Try this one out, it’s much cheaper than buying pre-made! Then again, it usually is cheaper to make your own!
Original pin at http://partiesforpennies.com/2012/02/diy-apothecary-jars/

2 thoughts on “Apothecary jars

Leave a Reply

