Sweet and Sour Chicken

Sweet and Sour Chicken

It’s my day off from work, so that means it’s my night to cook. Tony and I came up with this plan a while back. When I work, he’ll cook dinner and I cook on my off nights. That way I don’t have to rush home and start dinner right away.
I like trying these new recipes when I have my day off anyway because I never know how long they’ll take! This one didn’t seem to complicated, so it was easy enough to put together after a full day at the zoo.
I started by cubing 4 chicken breasts, seasoned them with salt and pepper. You need 1 cup of cornstarch in a bowl to coat your chicken with. Then transfer to a bowl of beaten eggs. The recipe called for 2 eggs, but I ended up adding an egg. Then you fry your chicken in oil, till well browned. At first I was worried the egg would rinse off the cornstarch, but it made it all very sticky, so be sure to constantly stir your chicken while it’s frying. It will clump together otherwise
You make your sauce with 3/4 cup sugar, 4 tbsp. ketchup, 1/2 cup white vinegar, 1 tbsp. soy sauce, 1 tsp. garlic salt. It smelled a little funky when I mixed it together, so I was a little nervous about how it would taste. I did the finger dip-and-taste and it was wonderful.
I coated the chicken in the mixture inside a baking dish and place it in your 350* oven for 15 minutes. The recipe said to bake for 15 minutes, stir, then another 15 minutes, but I only did the 15 minutes, stirring halfway through.
I made up some rice and peas and was about to call it dinner. Then I had the brainstorm to add some pineapple. Next time I’ll remember to throw that in prior to baking it. It was so yummy!
The kids ate it, Tony ate it, and I kept nibbling on leftovers! This one goes into the must-try category.
Original pin at http://madeitateitlovedit.blogspot.com/2012/03/sweet-and-sour-chicken.html

3 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Chicken

  1. Pingback: Fried Rice | superstevied

Leave a Reply

