Stuffed Baked Potato

Stuffed Baked Potato

This is another one of those pins I’ve had on my yummy board for many, many months with no immediate plans to make it. Then this month, I was planning out our monthly meal plans and steak was on the agenda. What goes better with steak than baked potato? Um, not much else!
Tony insisted he wanted to grill the steaks because the weather has finally decided to be beautiful here in northeast Ohio! I was more than happy to concede grilling rights to the man of the house and deal with the sides inside.
That was also the night I made up my cheddar bay biscuits so this was a Pinterest night! The basic baked potato is usually a little iffy for me. I can never get them to bake all the way through, so I end up with tough bits. Oh well, moving on!
I made up the baked potatoes as I usually do, I stabbed them like I was Jason at summer camp and put them in the microwave for 10 minutes.
Once they came out, I cut a layer off the top of each potato and then hollowed them out with a knife. Directions indicated spoon, but that was a little too time consuming for me. Knives are fun! *Please use cautiously*
I slathered the inside of the potato with butter and some salt and pepper. Then all you do is stuff it full of whatever you choose. I went basic, based on the recipe online, and used cheddar cheese, crumbled bacon and an egg. The egg was a little weird for me to work my head around, but it turned out yummy.
Preheat your oven to 350* and bake for about 20 minutes. The goal is for the yolks to be soft, but the whites to be set. I didn’t wait long enough so my whole egg was a little runny. I’m a constant bane to my father-in-law because I eat my eggs like this anyway!
I devoured mine, Tony ate all of his and the kids did alright. They usually don’t finish their baked potatoes anyway, so I was happy with how well they did.
We’ll definitely be trying this recipe again and I’ll be experimenting with some of the other suggestions from the site.
Enjoy your own kitchen experiments!
Original recipe can be found at http://www.ourbestbites.com/2012/02/an-idaho-sunrise-egg-stuffed-baked-potatoes/

Leave a Reply

