Calzones

Calzones

We are big pizza fans in this house. I married an Italian man, 4th generation off the boat so we do it from scratch, you know, the way it was meant! We usually eat it once a week, and it’s always fantastic, but I thought it might be time to shake things up and try these Pinterest pizza things.
I figured I’d start with the calzones since they are basically pizza wraps. The website did have a dough recipe, but we’ve been using the family recipe since we got married. I was very relaxed with following the exact directions. I’m not going to lie, all I did was take my pizza routine and wrap them up the way the website told me to.
I made my dough this morning so it would have plenty of time to rise. I started putting the calzones together early though. I wasn’t sure how long it would take to wrap them up. Instead of one huge calzone, I made 4 smaller calzones and we had enough dough leftover for the kids to make little pizza wraps of their own.
I rolled out my dough, and sliced the strips in the side with my kitchen scissors. Make sure you have a large enough solid piece in the middle to layer your pizza toppings. I started with the sauce, moved on to the pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, then I topped it off with cheese.
Then you take the strips you’ve already cut and flap them over your toppings, alternating the sides so you get a cute, almost braided look. After it’s all wrapped, brush some melted butter over the top and sprinkle with garlic salt for a little extra kick.
Once again, I blew off the directions on the website and used my normal cooktime and temperature, adding a few minutes to ensure done-ness.
The only concern from myself and voiced by Tony was that the dough was a little thick. It’s a carry-over from when we’re making pizza. We like thicker crust on our pizza so I just need to remember to pound it a little flatter when we do calzones again. It was a huge hit with the kids too.
This strikes me as a great travel meal, car trips, zoo trips or whatever, it’s something easy to pack up and eat with your hands. As opposed to pizza, you won’t lose your toppings in a baggy either!
The link below has the original recipe, but I feel obliged to provide my recipe so you have the option in case the website recipe is less than stellar.
3 cups flour, 1 egg, 1 tbsp. yeast, 1/4 tsp of salt and pepper each. Let rise for a few hours, then once you are ready to bake, preheat to 500* and bake for 15 minutes, or until your wrap is golden brown. Let cool for a few minutes and enjoy!
Original pin is at http://www.squidoo.com/homemade-calzone

Leave a Reply

