Bubble Solution

Bubble Solution

Today was an absolutely gorgeous day in the greater Cleveland area, so I knew we had to give this pin a go!
It seemed simple enough, and Chiara and Arthur were already playing with their bubbles, so I took that as a sign. While Arthur was in school, I went ahead and put all of this together.
6 cups water
1 cup light corn syrup
2 cups Joy dishwashing soap (If using an ultra concentrated dishwashing liquid, use only 1 1/3 cups) (I took this to mean you don’t actually have to use Joy, so I used Dawn because that is what I normally use)
In a large bowl (at least 3 quarts) stir water and corn syrup until combined.
Add dishwashing liquid and stir very gently until well mixed.
(Try not to make any bubbles.) Dip (don’t stir) bubble wands into bubble liquid and blow bubbles
After reading some of the notes, I realized some people said it’s best to let it sit for about an hour (maybe to concentrate or something, I don’t know) so sit it did, until after dinner. Bubbles are a little hard to see in pictures, but there are 2 here to see.
I definitely would not call them industrial strength, nor would I call them big.
However, I know I’ll try this again. I want to try again using Joy dish soap to see if that makes them tougher, and I want to get a different bubble wand, since mine is a little wimpy.
Even if they don’t come out super strong, it’s a very inexpensive way to make bubble solution and my kids love wasting an afternoon blowing bubbles!
If you’ve had better luck with this pin (you know, maybe by following the exact directions) let me know. You guys should hear back on this before summer gets in full swing!
Original pin is http://www.food.com/slideshow/15-awesome-kids-crafts-for-summer-85/giant-bubbles-4

Leave a Reply

