The Host

The Host

This is another first for me. I did pin this movie to my Fantastic Movies board, so I think it qualifies to go on my Pinterest based blog. Thoughts on the subject??
I was a big Twilight fan. So I was mildly curious about Stephenie Meyer’s new book. I did try reading it about a year ago, but then I was distracted when a book I was really anticipating came out, so it got set aside. I finally re-borrowed it from the library and started again.
This time was so different. I couldn’t put the book down and I devoured it in 3 days! After day 1 of reading I decided I had to see this movie. I looked up a movie schedule and, luck was on my side, there was a showtime for Jurassic Park 3D that coincided with a Host showtime. I knew my husband didn’t want to see the movie, but he and my son would enjoy Jurassic Park.
So Chiara and I went to see the Host while the guys went to see their movie. I had alternate plans, but my little 2 year old sat there and watched the movie with me. She gets into the oddest things. She loved the Twilight Saga and the Hunger Games. She has the same attachment to movie adaptations that I do!
I think they did a great job adapting the movie. Obviously they cut certain things for time constraints, but I feel what they cut didn’t take away from the main story-line. The basic story is a love story. Stephenie Meyer called it a science fiction movie for people who don’t like science fiction. I will really agree with that statement. At the core it’s a love story, not just a chick flick love story, but an action adventure love story.
The basic story followed the book: The earth has been taken over by an alien race. The humans never saw it coming because the aliens, or ‘souls’, inhabit the human body, taking over. One soul, Wanderer, ends up inside the body of Melanie, a member of the human resistance.
Melanie doesn’t fade away like most of the human hosts, instead influencing Wanderer to go and find the resistance.
Once she arrives, the humans are initially resistant *cough* murderous *cough*, Wanderer, or Wanda as she becomes, wins them over. She learns to love these humans, both through her Host’s memories and her own experiences, and realizes the only course left to her.

*SPOILER ALERT*

Eventually Wanda shows them how to remove the souls from the Hosts. Her price is that the doctor remove her, giving Melanie back her life, and allow her to die. Of course they can’t let Wanda die because she adds too much to their lives. The human answer: put her in a new body, one where the Host has faded leaving an empty body.

*END SPOILER ALERT*

As previously said, they did a very good job with the adaptation. Think Harry Potter, only the little stuff was left out. There was one scene that I actively missed. For those who read the book, you know there are many scenes that feel like they will rip your heart out, there were two in particular that really got to me. When Wanda says goodbye to Ian and then later to Jared. The Ian scene remained, but they left out the Jared scene. I was more than a little upset. I’m hoping when the DVD comes out there is a deleted scene………..
Think of this as a movie review, think of it as my opinion. Either way, I just watched this movie and I loved it. I know I just read the book, but I’m seriously thinking about re-reading it already!
If you read, pick up the book and then watch the movie. If you don’t enjoy reading, I will recommend the movie anyway!
Original pin

2 thoughts on “The Host

  1. Great review. The love triangle isn’t the only thing wrong with the movie. The characters are also just these boring people that I didn’t care for at all.

    • I’ve been informed I’m really easy to please with movies. I can only think of a handful of movies that I’ve actually hated. I know a lot of people hated the cast of Twilight, but I look past the cast and see the story, so I loved it. I enjoyed the movie more because of the book and knowing all the stuff that wasn’t in the movie. That’s how I felt about the Hunger Games too

Leave a Reply

