Make your thirty-one bag stand up

Make your thirty-one bag stand up

I’m sorry to say that I can’t credit the original pinner because the link is no longer good. I did however find this awesome picture on Pinterest. I have 2 of these Large Utility Totes and I love them. I use them constantly and my most recent use is to put our winter gear in one I leave by the front door. The kids aren’t tall enough to reach the peg hooks we have so they were flinging their coats wherever. The utility tote holds their coats, Tony and I’s gloves and scarves. Basically all the loose stuff you need in winter! Only problem was it kept collapsing as soon as you pulled the stuff back out. As a mom, I have the patience to hold the sides up while I stuff the stuff back in, but the kids just end up making a pile on top of the bag. This certainly solved that problem!
This looked simple enough based on the pictures. You just take some cardboard, wrap it in a vinyl table cloth and place it in your bag. At first I was thinking, staple gun. Turns out, not such a hot idea, since there is nothing to turn the staples and you sure don’t want the cardboard stuck to your floor! I did find a regular stapler in the house, so I was able to do the 4 sides using staples to hold the vinyl in place. I then ran out of staples, so I moved on to packing tape. It works, but it’s a little iffy. It doesn’t stick too well to the vinyl, but it’ll do in a pinch. I didn’t have any vinyl that went with my other tote, so I was only able to do one of my bags. I’m hoping once I find a vinyl tablecloth pattern that will go with my other bag it will turn out a little better. It turned out alright, I love the concept, but I definitely am looking forward to a do-over!
*Quick update to help make yours better than my first attempt: if you want exact measurements for your thirty-one large utility tote, you need cardboard pieces in the following sizes. (2)11″x21″ pieces, (2)11″x9″, (1)21″x9″

Leave a Reply

