Olive Garden Breadsticks

Olive Garden Breadsticks

So, I wanted to start a blog for several reasons. I’ve tried in the past, but didn’t have a good topic to blog about so it kind of fell through. I think I’ve hit on a winner finally! I loved the movie Julie and Julia, but it’s already been done, so who wants to repeat something? Cook your way through a cookbook, sure, but why repeat a blog? So I twisted it to Pinterest! I love Pinterest! The recipes, the crafts, I love it all. So I will blog about my experiences with tips, tricks, crafts and recipes.
I figured I’d start with something super yummy! Olive Garden Breadsticks! Ingredients include: 1 cup + 2 tbsp warm water, 1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast, 2 tbsp granulated sugar, 3 – 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour, 1 3/4 tsp salt, 3 tbsp vegetable oil. For the topping you’ll need: 2 tbsp margarine or butter, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp garlic powder.
Now the only complaint I have with this recipe is that it takes FOREVER! I can only make them when I’m off work for the day because there is simply no time after getting home from work!
Directions: In the bowl of an electric stand mixer, whisk together warm water, yeast and 1/2 tsp granulated sugar until yeast has dissolved. Allow to rest 10 minutes. Add in remaining 1 tbsp + 2 1/2 tsp granulated sugar, 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 3/4 tsp salt and vegetable oil. Fit mixer with paddle attachment and blend mixture till well combined. Switch mixer to dough hook attachment. Add in remaining 1 1/2 cups flour and knead mixture on low speed, adding 1/4 cup additional flour as needed, and knead until dough is smooth and elastic (dough should pull away from the sides of the bowl but should still be slightly sticky) Transfer dough to a large buttered mixing bowl, cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest in a warm place free from draft until double, about 1 1/2 hours. Punch risen dough down, divide into 12 equal portions, keep covered with plastic wrap as you work. Roll each piece into a 9-inch rope on a lightly floured surface, then transfer to cookie sheet.
I had the kids help me roll out the breadsticks, so mine were a little less than perfect, but we had so much fun!
Cover and let rise for an hour. Heat oven to 425 degrees. Bake in preheated oven 11-13 minutes until golden. In a small bowl mix together 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. Once breadsticks are done, run the butter over the crust then sprinkle the garlic powder / salt mixture over the top. Eat warm or let cool, they are divine either way!
Like I said, so very time consuming! But they are worth it, at least once or twice a month!

View the original pin here

One thought on “Olive Garden Breadsticks

Leave a Reply

