French Silk Pie

It is Christmas and I wasn’t going to blog today, but the kids are nibbling on their dessert and playing with their new toys. Tony and I are vegging on the couch watching some Scooby-Doo, so I thought, why not?
I started with some of my pie dough that I made a few weeks ago and just thawed out last night. For that recipe, check out http://superstevied.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/a-no-fail-pie-crust-recipe/. This time though, I had to “blind bake” it, which I did not do last time. I rolled out my pie dough and placed it in my pie plate and this time I lined it with wax paper and filled it with dry rice. Then you bake it at 375 for 10 minutes. I removed the rice after the 10 minutes was up and put it back in for a few minutes because the bottom was still a little doughy.
Blind Baking
The pie was an involved process, but it was so yummy that I know I’ll be making again! The original pin was from http://www.whatmegansmaking.com/2012/08/chocolate-french-silk-pie.html so be sure to check that out!
You start by taking 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and mixing it with an electric mixer for 2-3 minutes, until it becomes stiff. Think Cool Whip looking! Once you’ve achieved this look, cover and refrigerate until you need it again.
Next step is to combine 3 large eggs, 3/4 cup sugar and 2 tbsp. of water in a heat proof bowl. Place your bowl over a saucepan filled with 1/2″ of water, barely simmering. I started with a hand whisk, but you will want your electric mixer before this is over. Whisk these 3 together until it has thickened, 7-10 minutes. It’ll turn an ecru-type color and be a little fluffy looking. You shouldn’t see any egg yolk color when you’re done. After you’ve accomplished this, remove from the heat and continue whisking until it has cooled to room temperature. This should take about another 8 minutes.
Egg Mixture
Once your egg mixture is room temperature, beat in 8oz of chocolate morsels that have been melted and 1 tbsp. of vanilla extract. The original recipe called for bittersweet morsels, but I prefer semi-sweet, so that’s what we went with!
Once that’s all mixed together, add in 8 tbsp. of butter, 1/2″ pieces at a time. After your butter has all been added, use a spatula to stir in your whipped cream from earlier. Keep mixing until there are no streaks remaining. Scrape the whole mixture into your crust, be it homemade or store bought and refrigerate for 3-4 hours.
Chilled and Ready
My pie filling overran the edge of the crust, which accounts for the slightly messy edges. I don’t care though because it tasted delicious! It was like a really rich chocolate pudding. Needless to say, I had an entire glass of milk with my slice! Definitely try this out and don’t forget the whipped cream for the top!
So Good!

Leave a Reply

